Board of Directors

Nick Rodgers, Chairman

Mr Rodgers has considerable Board experience in both public and private growth companies, particularly those in the life science sector, as well as a background as a successful corporate financier and investment banker. Mr Rodgers is currently chairman of SEHTA, one of the largest health technology networking organisations in the UK. Prior to this, he was non-executive director and then chairman of fully listed Oxford Biomedica plc, a leading gene-based biopharmaceutical company, from 2004 until 2016. Previously, Mr Rodgers headed up both the Life Science and Corporate Finance department at Evolution Beeson Gregory (now Investec) advising many listed life science companies from 1989 until 2003.

Neil Clark, Chief Executive Officer

Mr Clark qualified as an accountant with PwC in Cambridge, UK and worked for over ten years on a variety of national and international assignments in audit, corporate finance and consultancy. In 1997, Mr Clark joined CeNeS Pharmaceuticals plc, a venture capital backed private UK biotech company. Following the successful flotation of CeNeS in 1999, he was appointed CFO. In 2005, he became CEO and led the company through to its sale in 2008. He then joined Ergomed in January 2009 and was CFO during its IPO in July 2014. Mr Clark joined Destiny Pharma as CEO in early 2017. Mr Clark is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and has a BSc in Bioscience from the University of Nottingham.

Dr William Love, Founder and Chief Scientific Officer

Dr Love was a senior scientist at Ciba Geigy/Novartis focused on novel drug delivery technologies and involved in the development of the world’s leading eye-care pharmaceutical, Visudyne. In 1997, Dr Love founded Destiny Pharma and he is the co-inventor of the XF drug platform. Dr Love was a founding member of the BEAM Alliance, an EU SME group focused on promoting antimicrobial drug development. He is an expert advisory board member of Global AMR Innovation Fund, appointed by Professor Dame Sally Davies. He joined the UK Research and Innovation (“UKRI”) COVID-19 Research and Innovation Taskforce in March 2021. Dr Love is the named inventor in more than 70 patents. He has experience in drug R&D from discovery and lead identification, through pre-clinical development and into Phase 1/2 clinical development in the UK, EU and US.

Shaun Claydon, Chief Financial Officer and Company Secretary

Mr Claydon is an accomplished corporate financier and qualified Chartered Accountant with over 18 years’ board level experience, including within the biotechnology sector. He has extensive experience of delivering financial and operating results and from 2015 served as CFO of Creabilis, a venture backed clinical stage specialty pharmaceutical company focused on dermatology treatments, during which he led the $150 million sale of the business to Sienna Biopharmaceuticals. From 2009 to 2014 Mr Claydon was CFO and chief operating officer of Orteq Sports Medicine, a medical device company and world leader in the field of biodegradable polymer technologies. Prior to these positions Mr Claydon held a number of senior financial consultancy and corporate finance roles including at PwC, Evolution Beeson Gregory (now Investec) and HSBC Investment Banking.

Dr Debra Barker, Non-Executive Director

Dr Barker has worked at Novartis, Roche, GSK (then SmithKline Beecham) and most recently in C-Suite Biotech roles at Polyphor and Polyneuron. Dr Barker is currently Senior Independent Director at Arix Bioscience, a global venture capital company and holds additional Non-Executive Director positions at BerGenBio ASA, an immune-oncology company and CureVac AG a clinical stage biopharmaceutical company with a proprietary RNA technology platform. At Novartis Dr Barker held several senior roles including Head of Development for Anti-Infectives, Immunology and Transplantation. Dr Barker was also the medical lead for Swiss based anti-infective specialist Polyphor’s highly successful IPO on the SIX Swiss Exchange.

James Stearns, Non-Executive Director

Mr Stearns serves as the International Chief Investment Officer for China Medical System Holdings, a speciality pharmaceutical company listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange. Prior to joining China Medical System Holdings, he spent over 20 years in the financial markets based in both London and New York, latterly as a director in Corporate Advisory at Panmure Gordon with a focus on life sciences.

Aled Williams, Non-Executive Director

Mr Williams has more than twenty-five years of leadership experience across pharma and biotech sectors. He is currently Chief Executive Officer of Enthera Pharmaceuticals. Prior to his current appointment, he was Chief Business Officer at Polyneuron Pharmaceuticals and before this served as Chief Commercial Officer at VectivBio. Mr Williams’ prior experience includes more than seven years at Shire, where he was Vice President and Global Strategy Head and led three of the rare disease therapeutic areas. Prior to Shire, he held leadership positions of increasing responsibility at Bristol-Myers Squibb, Novartis and Roche. Mr Williams originally trained in microbiology and started his career working in Public Health.

Nigel Brooksby, Non-Executive Director

Mr Brooksby has held senior strategic and operational roles in the USA, Europe, Africa, the Middle East, Latin America & Asia with Sanofi, Pfizer & GSK (Wellcome). He is a past Non-Executive Director of the UK Government’s Porton Biopharma Ltd, Chronos Therapeutics Ltd, and the nominated Wellcome Trust Director of several biotechnology companies. Mr Brooksby is former President of the British Pharma Industry (ABPI), a Member of the South Australian Health Board, the CBI’s President Committee, the UK Government’s Business, Innovation & Skills (now BEIS) Advisory Board and the Chair of the European Medicines Group. In addition, he holds several Global Academic Board and Charity Trustee positions.